Children, Family

Daisy, Sonny & Poppy in February 2017

Daisy 

Daisy is continuing to do really well at school and seems really happy she happily goes to school each day and so far has not missed a single day, which I am really proud of as she just gets on with everything.  She shows a good work ethos at school, the other day they had to take boxes in for their transport topic and she made a red London bus out of it, she would tell me each day how she was getting on with it and I was so proud when one day she said “I was painting my bus today mummy and it was taking a really long time and was hard but I really just wanted to get it done so I just kept going.”  I am so pleased to see that she had a bit of determination and drive in her as I think that is really important.


She is also becoming more confident and I see that when we go home from school and different people from her class will talk to her, at one point she would get embarrassed and not want to talk but now she is happy to even call out to them! That is one thing I am really pleased to see in her as I am not a very confident person and I would like her, Sonny and Poppy to grow up with a level of self-confidence.   

I am noticing what a loving little girl she is becoming she is always telling me how much she loves me, Sonny and Poppy and if they get upset about things she will get upset with them too.  I can identify with the way she is when I kiss her goodnight as she will hug me so tight and I say “I just love you so much mummy I never want you to go away” and I can remember feeling exactly the same way with my mum so I give her an extra special squeeze and tell her I love her too.



Sonny

Well this month Sonny finally seems like he has settled a lot better at nursery and I can now actually say goodbye to him properly without him screaming as the lovely ladies try to distract him with something.  I know that when he is there he has a lovely day as he is always happy when I pick him up and enthuiastic to tell me about his day! It is also really lovely to see how proud he is to show me what he has been making that day whether its something he has painted or something they have cooked together, he brings all sort of things home with him.  He still can be somewhat clingy though and I think he would always prefer to be where ever I am (which I won’t deny is kind of lovely but can be a pain sometimes.)


I am also noticing how well his speech is coming along, he is saying proper sentences now even if they are things like “Poppy can go nursery today!’  After a little patch where he always seemed to be hurting Poppy in one way or another he is also a much kinder boy lately and will only really take things from Poppy if he thinks it’s something she shouldn’t have such as the TV remote.  Since he seems much more settled just lately I have introduced him to the potty and to my surprise he has actually been on it a few times!  He is not always keen to give it a go though but I am not gonna stress and rush him as I made that mistake with Daisy and potty training just took forever so my attitude towards it is just he will get it when he gets it.


 

Poppy

Poppy has now sort of turned into the Sonny of a few months ago!! She keeps pulling poor Sonny’s hair and hitting him on the head, I know she doesn’t know just yet exactly what she is doing but I still have to tell her no as I really don’t want her thinking she can get away with it since she is the littlest.  Other than a few blips she is really starting to play with her big brother and sister now and they love playing with her it is lovely to see them all together when they play nicely.  A couple of weeks ago I had them all painting together and although Poppy still just wants to eat the paint the times when she did actually put the paintbrush on the page was nice as she does try to join in with them.


I have just recently changed Poppy’s nap times so instead of sleeping in the mornings from say 11am-1pm she now goes 1pm-3pm and so far so good, I think it works good all round as after lunch is when Sonny has his chill out time so he can relax playing with his cars whilst Poppy sleeps and I also have half a chance of doing a bit of work whilst everything is calm.  Also we seem to have gone through a natural progression of dropping the bottle at night, we just went without it a couple of times and Poppy didn’t seem to mind so eventually I just dropped it altogether, however she still has and still wants her bottle first thing in the morning so that one can stay a bit longer.  


 

Leave a Reply

